Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Re Créa Tinou
21 février 2014

Recycled Tin Can Flower Caddy

2010-06-08

While I’m really trying hard to accomplish some of my indoor projects, it is just way too hard as my attention is drawn outdoors to the warm summertime weather that greets me each morning. I hope you’ll stick with me through a few more garden projects before I’m forced to tackle my indoor to-do.

I was thrilled to find out this weeks CSI Project was a Martha Stewart Inspired Challenge. {not to mention the guest judge this week is the Martha Stewart Craft Department – how exciting!}

Photo Credit {marthastewart.com}I choose to make a flower caddy inspired by this Tin-Can Caddy posted on Martha Stewart’s website {here}. While the concept is basically the same, I altered the steps and materials since I plan on using my caddy outdoors. I just adore that this caddy is made from recycled materials and scraps that many can find around your own home, making this an easy project to tackle.

The materials needed for the flower caddy are;
6 Lg 4 inch Diameter Tin Cans {emptied and cleaned}
A Scrap Piece of 1X6 Pressure Treated Deck Floor Board {cut to 9 inches long}

To make the handle I used a 2 1/2 inch Hole Saw Drill Bit. The bit attaches directly to your hand drill and can be found at your local hardware store for under $10.

It cuts a perfect circle, quick and easy, every time! The hole is centered on the board and approximately 3/4 inches from the top edge.

The wood was then sanded with a palm sander to smooth any rough spots and round the edges just a bit. One coat of white spray paint was applied then another round of sanding to achieve a worn distressed look.

To prepare the cans holes were drilled in the bottoms, with a hand drill, to allow for proper water drainage for the plants.

I just love white wood and galvanized metal together and tried to create that ‘look’ for the caddy. Each can received a light spritz of satin nickel spray paint which seemed to dull the shiny tin just enough. {the can on the left above has been sprayed}

To assemble the caddy, pilot holes were drilled into each can and then screws were screwed in at an angle.

It’s now ready for some beautiful blooms.

Source: http://www.bystephanielynn.com/2010/06/recycled-tin-can-flower-caddy.html

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Re Créa Tinou
Publicité
Newsletter
Archives
Publicité